Lifestyle

Published by Frederic Tennant

Getting in the Spirit of Fall Holidays

 

Every time a different holiday rolls around, I get all kiddy like a kid because of the excitement surrounding such festivities. No, I’m not even a fan of candy or gifts. Rather, holidays seem to have this aura surrounding them that’s indescribable. All you can do is experience that feeling and soak it in while it’s around, since it won’t come back for another year.

Lifestyle

In fact, perhaps that’s what is most striking to me about holidays and their atmosphere. The reason they’re so special and exciting? It’s because they’re fleeting, ephemeral. Only once a year do you get to have that feeling, and so it makes everything so much more fun to enjoy it while it’s around. And one way you can get yourself amped up and in the mood for these holidays is to update your workplace. Since you spend on average 40 hours a week at your work place, it’s a good idea to liven it up some. Why does this help so much? Well, so that you’re not stuck in the same old boring office all year long! It’s all to improve your mood, of course.

 

And it’s not like you have to empty your wallet to do some decorating or anything. We’ve got a few cheaper and easier ideas for you to get your office fresh and lively to reflect fall holiday’s atmosphere. Why not bring some life to the place you often dislike driving to? At the very least, it could boost your spirits or even productivity!

Get new lamps (with colors!)

In my opinion, one of the best ways to change things up in your office is to update your lighting. Sometimes this means getting a brand new lamp with a cool lampshade that’s unexpected. Other times, it means plugging in strings of lights that are multi-colored to match the current holiday. And even still, you could have a candle or something in your office for a sense of spookiness. (Just make sure you check with your employer beforehand in case lit candles aren’t allowed in your office! I remember years ago I had a few candles for my work place but my employer said I couldn’t use them. So, I put them in a few cheap moving boxes and sent them to storage.) Since I’ve had my candles in those cheap moving boxes for years, I felt like I should do them justice by using them at my current job.

Change your desktop screensaver

This is cheap, this is free, and this will truly get you in the mood to celebrate holidays. I mean, you’re going to see this multiple times a day when using your computer, aren’t you? Might as well change it up from season to season and holiday to holiday. The internet has millions of images out there that will fit your very holiday needs, so get to searching, settle on something that speaks to you and makes you interested in your surroundings, and set it to your background or screensaver.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe: